21 Comments
Jul 15, 2022Liked by Jesus Rodriguez

This is a short story collection but "Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned" by Wells Tower is incredible. I came across one of his stories in a Pushcart Collection years ago and was blown away by his writing. I sought out more of his stuff and found his collection. It's only recently that I revisited. It's fiction, but it's grounded. A lot of family stuff.

"The Five" by Hallie Rubenhold is fantastic. It's historical nonfiction. It's about the five canonical victims of Jack the Ripper, but it has nothing to do with the murders. It's all about the lives of the women, delving into the social ills that pushed these women into the fringes of society. It's a compelling read. Rubenhold is a historian, but she writes like a novelist. It's so clear that she cares deeply for these women.

Good luck with the bar, Jesus!

Expand full comment

If you haven't read The Inconvenient Indian by Thomas King, do it!

Expand full comment
Jul 15, 2022Liked by Jesus Rodriguez

The suggestions you have received are amazing- I am making a list from them,. I love non fiction but don't get to it as much as I would like to being a solid fervent fiction reader. Though one I loved, which was published several years ago, I recommend every chance I get is Susan Orlean's The Library Book http://www.susanorlean.com/author/books/the-library-book/ This may not be as hard hitting as the majority of recommendations you have received so far but it is a fascinating journey of an unsolved fire with an unbeknownst romance for libraries. So, if you need a little lighter fare but still intriguing and pleasing you may want to give it a try. There is also an Olympics Book coming out soon that is so rich in history that it dazzles, I couldn't put it down and I am not even a sports person. Women and the Olympic Dream by Maria Kaj https://kajmeister.com/kaj-books-in-print

Best of fortune on the bar!

Expand full comment
Jul 15, 2022Liked by Jesus Rodriguez

Last night I finished Mother to Mother by Sindiwe Magona. I actually snagged this book off Luke years ago before he was going to donate it. It was a good read about a mother trying to come to grips with and explain her son's violence that resulted in the death of a white Fulbright scholar in South Africa.

Expand full comment
Jul 15, 2022Liked by Jesus Rodriguez

I recently re-read John Green’s The Anthropocene Reviewed and I’m currently working through both The City We Became by N.K. Jemisin and The Hacienda by Isabel Cañas since I too am a “multiple books at a time” kinda person.

As for bar prep from a practicing attorney who was literally in the depths of prep last February: you are SO close to the finish line to stop the long days now. However, I would also listen to my body and mind and take breaks as needed. I would also highly recommend *not* studying (I know, possibly controversial advice) the last day or two before the actual exam. You have been through it and anything you haven’t already committed to the memory/repetition cycle won’t happen in the last day or two. Plus your mind and body will probably appreciate the break to bounce back to their full potential.

Best of luck with the bar exam - it’s a beast and it is so worth it because we need more Latine attorneys in the field!! (Take it from someone who was just called the interpreter a few days ago…I’m clearly still salty!) And before you start the exam, don’t forget to take a deep breath or two! Wishing you all the best and more on the end of the journey!

Expand full comment
Jul 15, 2022·edited Jul 15, 2022Liked by Jesus Rodriguez

Currently reading some great nonfiction like Pilgrim at tinker creek and Atlas of the heart

Expand full comment
Jul 15, 2022Liked by Jesus Rodriguez

Among recent reads, I really loved Perpetual West! Then I read Go Home, Ricky!, which was not bad. The only conclusion to draw from this n=2 sample is that novels with wrestlers are gonna be enjoyable!

Also I totally hear you about disliking beach reads. Nonetheless, want to recommend the Inspector Montalbano series, which is set in Sicily and features a grumpy detective constantly faced with his own anxiety about aging. They're formulaic but I found them a nice alternative to beach reads (full disclosure: I don't actually read the series, just listen to the audiobooks).

Love your writing, and go kick ass at the bar exam! I had to do the 12-hour daily reading for my grad school comprehensive exams, and this is not going to be any comfort to you, but nowadays I look back and think - "I wish I could just sit and read dry academic literature for 12 hours!" That is just to say, you'll do great!

Expand full comment

Jesus! So one of my favorite books that I've read in the past few years is A Little Devil in America by Hanif Abdurraquib. He is also re-releasing They Can't Kill Us Until They Kill Us with 3 "new" essays in November, which I'm very excited for. Have you read anything by Ted Chiang? I've been low-key wanting to read more science fiction and I feel like Ted Chiang and N.K. Jemisin have been two writers I keep wanting to go back to. I inhaled The City We Became last summer, and just started N.K. Jemisin's Broken Earth trilogy.

Expand full comment

i also like nonfiction. my father left this book on my bed (ISBN 978-0199739349) the other day just for fun. it's about this thing called the antikythera mechanism, basically the first known piece of technology that uses algorithms to do stuff. it was made to help people use the stars to navigate. i'm no expert; i've only skimmed through the first chapter. i'm taking summer AP computer science right now, and he saw i was interested in it. there are all these interesting things (not in the book) about pascal's calculator and things i read in my textbook that make for really wonderful wikipedia spirals.

i'm also reading amanda gorman's call us what we carry. she's a damn good poet (ISBN 978-0199739349)

since you like short stories, aeon and psyche also have some interesting articles if you're into the bite-sized reading type of thing like i am. wikipedia is also 10/10. if you need inspiration, follow @depthsofwikipedia on instagram. there's nothing like learning from experience though- i'm volunteering with my neurosurgeon uncle, and i've made a game out of guessing what all the words mean. checking my guesses has led to some cool neurology trivia i found online.

good luck on your exams. i love your writing, it's great to meet you!!

Expand full comment